Skip to main content

Board of Directors

The Operation Lifesaver, Inc, (OLI) Board of Directors consists of representatives of the primary interests involved in the conduct of Operation Lifesaver programs.

The OLI Board of Directors is the governing body of the organization. It is responsible for determining OLI’s overall mission, priorities and direction and provides oversight to ensure that programs and services are carried out effectively. The Board also works to ensure that the organization has adequate resources that are managed with appropriate financial controls, and promotes OLI’s public standing so that the organization can carry out its mission to save lives and reduce injuries at highway rail crossings and on or around railroad property.

Current Board members include:

  • Jo Strang, Chair
    Senior Vice President, Safety & Regulatory Policy, American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association
  • Mark A. Schulze, Vice Chair
    Vice President, Safety, Training and Operations Support, BNSF Railway Company
  • Nancy Hudson, Secretary/State Coordinator on the Board
    Executive Director, Alabama Operation Lifesaver
  • Jason M. Morris, Treasurer
    Assistant Vice President Safety and Environmental, Norfolk Southern Corporation
  • Rachel Maleh, Ex-Officio, Non-Voting
    Executive Director, Operation Lifesaver, Inc.
  • Nicole Brewin
    Senior Vice President, Government & Public Affairs, Railway Supply Institute, Inc.
  • Katie Chimelewski, National Advisory Council Co-Chair
    Director, Safety & Certification, American Road & Transportation Builders Association
  • Kelly Clough
    Deputy Chief of Police, Canadian Pacific Railway
  • Martin Conway
    Deputy Chief, Amtrak Police Department
  • Stephen Covey
    Chief of Police and Chief Security Officer, Canadian National
  • Sean Douris
    Chief of Police, Public Safety, and Infrastructure Protection, CSX
  • Andy Elkins
    Manager of Hazmat Compliance, Association of American Railroads
  • Jessica Feder, National Advisory Council Co-Chair
    Executive Director, Indiana Operation Lifesaver
  • Shayne Gill
    Program Director for Multimodal Transportation, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO)
  • Polly Hanson, Transit Representative
    Director of Security, Risk, and Emergency Management, American Public Transportation Association
  • Barry E. Morton
    Assistant Vice President Health & Safety, The Kansas City Southern Railway Company
  • Emma Moser
    Director, Safety & Reporting, Genesee & Wyoming Railroad Services, Inc.
  • Suzanne M. Rohde
    Senior Vice President, Government Affairs and Policy, American Bus Association
  • John Walsh
    Director of Hazardous Materials Programs, Short Line Safety Institute
  • Lawrence K. Wenko
    Sr. Manager Public Safety, Union Pacific Railroad

Media Contact

Operation Lifesaver, Inc. understands the importance of the news media’s role in helping the public make safe decisions around tracks and trains.

To request further information about Operation Lifesaver’s activities, or for additional safety information, email general[at] or contact our national headquarters office at 703-739-0308.

If you are a reporter seeking information for a local news story, view our list of state Operation Lifesaver program contacts.

If you are on deadline for a story and would like Operation Lifesaver, Inc.'s perspective on a highway-rail safety or trespass prevention topic, email news[at]